Don’s Travel Log: Salahuddin Al Ayoubi’s tomb,Syria

malaysian Caricature

malaysian Caricature

Last night I watched America’s Funniest Home Video, I mean America’s Got Talent. The participant are so talented and some are quite funny too.

Well, enough of that, now I want to share my experienced in Syria. I visited the Tomb of Salahuddin Al Ayoubi or better known as Saladin, The Great Arabian Knight who fought the Invaders , I mean the Crusaders. What am I thinking here !

kartunis Don

Adjacent to Saladin’s Tomb is the beautiful Omayyad Mosque with a large courtyard.

kampung luat

One of the minarets is known as ‘Isa Minaret’. It is believed by the locals that when Jesus or Prophet Isa comes back, he would be descending down through this minaret. Well, I don’t know.

kampung luat

The mosque was also known as ‘John the Baptist Church’ for it contains the Tomb of John the Baptist or Makam Nabi Allah Yahya.

kampung luat

The mosque was built to contain the ‘Makam’ during the reign of Caliph Al-Waleed in 710 AD.

kampung luat

Leave a Reply

